Oh, the HATS!

As a graphic designer, it is said you have to wear many hats. You must be able, first and foremost, to design. This is obvious. But, really, what comes first is communication. You must be able to communicate with the client to find out what they want. You must be able to communicate with the end consumer through your design so it says what it needs to say. Aside from a knowledge of design and communication, you must know software and troubleshooting should anything go wrong. Being a photographer helps in many cases as well as does being a copywriter and a proofreader if you have someone else writing copy. Also knowing web-design and code is growing more and more essential. And your work will be varied, so you should not focus simply on logo design, typography or flash animation but be good at each and able to adapt to any changing client needs. Then, if you’re a freelancer, you need to be able to handle invoices, pre-press, billing, time-management…

In short, I just wanted to write this post for an excuse to post pictures of my hats. I was cleaning my closet out and realized that very few of them see the light of day anymore. When am I wearing a morning suit so I have occasion to break out the top hat? Easter, maybe. So, once a year. My fedoras? I rarely wear suits out since I work everyday and don’t want to foot the dry cleaning bill for spilling a mocha down the front of my tuxedo (true story). So, in all their glory, here they are.

(Sorry for the shameless lead and the immature show-and-tell nature of this post.)

0 Responses to “Oh, the HATS!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello; my name is Nicolaus E. Witchger. I am a graphic designer from Saginaw, MI best known for wearing bow ties and drinking single-malt scotch, dark beer, and espresso.

Recent Links

RSS .my.tumblog.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

